Posted on

Just Say No to Windows 10 – For Now

Windows 10

Vic stopped in my office the other morning while out running errands.  “What do you think about Windows 10?  Should I upgrade?”

Sara called me later that afternoon asking, “I have Windows 8 on my laptop.  Should I go ahead and install Windows 10?  It keeps telling me I should.”

Every day at least one person asks me what they should do about Windows 10 – because they’re constantly nagged to upgrade to Microsoft’s latest operating system.

Last month in this column, I suggested that for most home users, moving to Windows 10 would possibly be ok – but explained several reasons why you probably shouldn’t.  I adamantly warned business owners to NOT upgrade.  (Missed that column?  Read it here:  http://tinyurl.com/Windows10Verdict).

Since then, I’ve had numerous clients express frustration after they’ve upgraded. 

Some despise its layout.  They can’t find their programs, files, or how to change certain settings.

Others complain it causes their computer to run slow.  Some report error messages appear and software programs don’t work properly.

I’d like to answer a few of the common questions I’m frequently asked about Windows 10.

 

If I don’t upgrade, will my current Windows stop working?

No.  Your ability to use Windows on your computer does not expire.  Microsoft does stop supporting and updating its various Windows versions.  For example, support for Windows XP ended in April 2014, but thousands of computers running Windows XP still work just fine – it’s just not wise to use them on the Internet.

Windows 7 and Windows 8 will be supported and updated through at least January 2020 and 2023, respectively.  So you don’t have to worry about using your computer with these operating systems for a long time.

 

Windows 10 is free.  Will I have to pay for it if I don’t update now?

Microsoft is enticing users to move to Windows 10 by offering it for free.  But you don’t have to do so immediately.

If you have a Windows 7 or 8 computer, you will be able to upgrade to Windows 10 for free through June 2016.  

Because you can still take advantage of it being free later, it’s wise to wait.  Let them get the bugs and problems mostly resolved before you upgrade.

 

If I upgrade but don’t like Windows 10, can I go back to my old operating system?

Yes, but it may not be easy or cheap.

Supposedly Microsoft has a utility built into Windows 10 allowing you to undo the upgrade.  But many people are finding that it either doesn’t work or they experience a myriad of problems after rolling back to their previous version of Windows.

In many cases, it requires a complete erasure of the PC followed by a clean install of Windows 7 or 8 and all your software programs.

Should you decide you really wish to upgrade to Windows 10, I’d strongly recommend having us perform our Comprehensive Windows 10 Upgrade Service.  It includes built-in safety precautions to allow for an easier reversion to your original operating system if you find you don’t like Windows 10 or it causes you problems.

 

How do I stop Windows from insisting I upgrade?

Uninstall Windows patch KB3035583 and then hide it from showing again.

Do it yourself with step-by-step instructions by downloading our instruction guide at https://www.calibreforhome.com/guides/NoWindows10.  Or contact your trusted computer professional to handle it for you.

 

What’s your ultimate recommendation?

Like everything else in life, some people love Windows 10 while others hate it.  It does have some positive enhancements over Windows 8, but it also has some serious problems.

It is best, in my professional opinion, to wait to upgrade.  Stay with your current version of Windows – 7 or 8.  Let other people experience the problems with Windows 10 for now and wait until Microsoft fixes them.  You’ll be a much happier computer user!

Posted on

Control Your Facebook News Feed With The New “See First” Feature

Facebook

 

Have you ever gotten frustrated scrolling through your Facebook news feed because it’s cluttered with pictures and posts from people you hardly know or talk to?

And you can’t easily find the recipe Aunt Sally posted that the rest of your family is talking about?

Wouldn’t it be nice to always see weather alerts, sports updates, and community updates from pages like Gibson County Communique, Wabash Valley Weather Alerts, and the South Gibson Star-Times?

Over the years, Facebook has tried to understand who and what you prefer to see when you log in.  But their best efforts using complex algorithms have fallen short.

But now, Mark Zuckerberg’s development team may have finally created a feature that truly works.  It makes sense too because it lets YOU decide what you want to see – to a degree.

The new feature is called “See First.”  It allows you to identify the people and pages whose status updates you determine are of higher priority than everyone else in your Facebook world.

For example, you may always want to see updates from your family members.  Maybe you want to stay abreast of the latest news or financial information shared by certain media outlets.

“See First” allows you to select those individuals and pages whose posts you want to never miss.

Of course, you’ll still see pictures and updates from other people on your friends list, but you may not see everything.  (Facebook hasn’t fully revealed how this new feature works.)

How do you set up the “See First” feature on your Facebook account?  It’s simple!

  • Log in to Facebook on your desktop or laptop computer.
  • Click on the blue down arrow located at the far right of the blue bar across the top of your Facebook page. You will see a drop-down menu of options.
  • Click on “News Feed Preferences.” A new window will open.
  • Click on “Prioritize who to see first.” You will see all of the Facebook pages you have liked, people you have followed, and people who are your Facebook friends.  They appear in no particular order.
  • Click on the picture of the friend or page whose posts you always want to see at the top of your news feed. A white star in a blue circle indicates you have selected them.

    If you ever wish to remove a person or page from your priority list, simply click the picture on this screen to remove the white star in the blue circle.

  • Click the Done button after you have finished making your selections.